#PeriodPride: A personal reminder to bleed with pride

“To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment.” ― Ralph Waldo Emerson

I am proud to be a woman, most importantly, I am a proud mother of an extremely naughty and cute three year old daughter. Just like any other mother, I want her to be safe yet independent, free yet cautious, modern yet grounded to her roots. Currently, I am in the process of learning and unlearning many things with her and want to make sure that I am with her in every milestones – just like I was there when she had her first tooth, her first day in school, and her first dance performance and so on.

Similarly, I want to be there for her when she attains puberty, a time when a daughter perhaps needs her mother the most. As a mother, it is my duty to teach her to live with her head high, come what may. No one should have the courage to discriminate her just because of her gender. I know for a fact that the first time a mother talks ‘periods’ to her daughter, she creates a picture of do’s and don’ts in her young mind and that is where it all starts from. So, it is very important what I say and how I say. I basically have two choices – either to tell her that it is completely natural, happens to all girls, and it means that she is growing up or to tell her that it is a monthly problem and she should refrain from participating in daily activities while menstruating. I will choose the first one, always. From me, she will know that it is definitely not a problem as it helps women to be fit and healthy; rather it becomes a problem if it does not happen regularly and if proper hygiene is not maintained. This is a very important phase of life when she should be cognizant about her health and take good care of it, thus forming the foundation of good habits. I will also consider consulting a gynecologist at this time so that my daughter knows the right things about her body and grows up to be a confident human being who knows her body well enough. That’s the beauty of having ‘periods’ and she should be proud of it that she is the chosen one to have it. Side by side, I will also tell her about our society’s approach towards menstruation, not to scare her but to keep her informed.  I will only preach what I practice and strongly believe in. I do not believe that a woman become impure during those four days and so should not eat certain things, or pray that time. Isn’t respect and love originate from the heart? It’s all in the mind, after all!

Times are changing and it is about time we tell our daughters the following things:

  • Having periods is not a taboo.
  • Menstruation is not dirty and it symbolizes a woman’s biological cycle.
  • There is no shame in buying sanitary napkin, so why to wrap them up?
  • Don’t talk in hushed voice about periods.

Once this understanding finds a place, the social scenario will definitely change and I think we need more women (and men) who supports this cause and believe it. So, this blog is meant to be a reminder for all of us so that all our daughters feel safe tomorrow and always….

 

“This blogathon is supported by the Maya App, used by 6.5 million women worldwide to take charge of their periods and health.”

Leave a Reply

